Forum Home Register Members List Mark Forums Read

Closed Thread

Old 07-21-2011, 05:39 AM   #1
rojan_neo

Activity Longevity
0/20 9/20
Today Posts
0/11 sssssss13
Default C++ or C# for my next FPS project??

I am planning to make a new FPS game by designing the basics of the game engine as well for my next project (I am currently studying undergraduate in computer engineering). But I am unsure whether I should be using C++ or C# along with the directx SDK. I have prior knowledge of C# and have made couple of games with it. As for C++ I have the core knowledge of C++ basics but have not been able to program any games with it.

(Just to let you know I am planning to pursue my career in game industry)
Old 07-21-2011, 07:17 AM   #2
tsloper
Super Moderator

Activity Longevity
3/20 14/20
Today Posts
0/11 sssss1827

Quote:
Originally Posted by rojan_neo View Post
I am unsure whether I should be using C++ or C#
What are your criteria? (What factors do you use to determine which you "should" use?) Without knowing your criteria, how can anybody help you make this decision?

PLEASE do not use this website's PM feature to contact me.
Old 07-21-2011, 07:43 AM   #3
rojan_neo

Activity Longevity
0/20 9/20
Today Posts
0/11 sssssss13

Quote:
What are your criteria? (What factors do you use to determine which you "should" use?)
I would like to focus more on the actual game logic and physics but along the way get some average graphics because I do not have any good 3D modelers on my team. But basically I want the engine to be fast and reliable. It does not need to be multi platform so no worries there..
Old 07-22-2011, 01:50 AM   #4
yaustar
Administrator

Activity Longevity
2/20 19/20
Today Posts
0/11 sssss2256

C#. You know it already so you can start working on the areas you want to focus on sooner.
Old 07-22-2011, 05:43 AM   #5
rojan_neo

Activity Longevity
0/20 9/20
Today Posts
0/11 sssssss13

Quote: