Forum Home Register Members List Mark Forums Read

Old 12-03-2010, 03:27 PM   #1
onaled515

Activity Longevity
0/20 18/20
Today Posts
0/11 ssssssss9
Default portfolio critque

I am an aspiring user interface designer and I would like a serious critique of my portfolio so far. I am trying to get ready for GDC 2011 and have already started applying for jobs just to see the responses i would get. I want to know if I am on the right track and what if any designs I have created are worth keeping. Please leave any comments positive or negative,but if negative please give comments on how to improve. http://taylormadedesign.daportfolio.com
also here is one that I am currently working on. thanks
Attached Images
File Type: jpg basketballui.jpg (64.6 KB, 12 views)

Last edited by onaled515 : 12-04-2010 at 01:29 AM.
onaled515 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2010, 07:28 AM   #2
EvilLlama

Activity Longevity
0/20 17/20
Today Posts
0/11 ssssss282

-Have UI design be a category on its own, since that's what you want to be and everything you have under there is UI related anyway

-UI design should be the first category, since it's what you want to do and your strongest work.

-Instead of categorizing by tool (Photoshop, Illustrator, etc) categorize by what it is (UI design, web design, Posters/greeting cards, etc)

-Combine your About page with your Home page. You're adding an extra step that isn't necessary else wise

-While the large portrait on the Home page is cute, I don't see why it needs to be that large especially since you're going for UI design, not character design.

-Put everything that isn't UI design, web design, or design centered in a single Misc or Other work page

-Your UI for the ocean game is awesome in that I want to play the game just from looking at the interface. If you could even ignore my earlier and have the About and Home pages be separate, but replacing the portrait with this image.