Forum Home Register Members List Mark Forums Read

Old 08-12-2009, 03:06 AM   #1
lightnin2211

Activity Longevity
0/20 14/20
Today Posts
0/11 ssssssss6
Default postgraduate games degree

I am a student in India about to finish a 5 year integrated MS in Software Engineering. I want to get into the games industry as a programmer. I have already done quite a bit of programming in my course. However, in terms of graphics and AI, I have little or no exposure. To rectify this and to better prepare myself, I am looking for a good masters course in games programming or games development. I have narrowed my search down to a few courses and was hoping someone would help me choose. Further, with regards to location, which country (US or UK) would be more suitable for undertaking such a course in? In my search, I have found many specific courses in the UK and rather vague or broader ones in the US. Would taking up a course in the UK hinder my chances of working elsewhere? These are the following courses I have shortlisted,

1) MSc Games Programming - University of Hull
2) Msc Game Engineering - Newcastle University
3) Msc Computer Games Technology - University of Abertay Dundee
4) MS Computer Science(Game Development) - University of Southern California
5) MS Games Design and Development - Rochester Institute of Technology

Any advice or other suggestions would be much appreciated. Also, since the industry is nascent in India, can anyone recommend some online projects I can participate in to build my portfolio?
lightnin2211 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2009, 05:17 AM   #2
Gshonk

Activity Longevity
0/20 20/20
Today Posts
0/11 ssssss831

Cue the British
Gshonk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2009, 05:45 AM   #3
yaustar
Administrator

Activity Longevity
2/20 19/20
Today Posts
1/11 sssss2270

The MSc at Hull is pretty well received and recent got a Skillset accreditation. The only issue is that it is in Hull.