Go Back   Game Career Guide Forums > More Careers
Forum Home Register Members List Mark Forums Read

Old 08-07-2007, 02:12 PM   #1
soggygrits

Activity Longevity
0/20 19/20
Today Posts
0/11 sssssss11
Default IT graduate, am I on the right track?

Hi everyone,

I am an animation graduate with job experience in information technology (LANs, WANs, databases, etc..) I've been in IT for three years now, and got my master's in IT management. I was wondering if the game industry are looking for people who are artists with technical experience like myself. I figure testing can't be the only way to get into game dev. I could use my IT experience to get myself in the game industry. I love video games and animation. I'm trying to switch careers from where I am now to either game or animation development. Thanks in advance!
soggygrits is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2007, 11:51 AM   #2
HagNasty
Super Moderator

Activity Longevity
0/20 20/20
Today Posts
0/11 ssssss123

There are actually positions for technical animators that setup Rigs and skinning on characters as well as animate them.

C, C++, C#, Objective-C, Java, PHP, SQL, Javascript, Actionscript, HTML, CSS
HagNasty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2007, 07:15 AM   #3
soggygrits

Activity Longevity
0/20 19/20
Today Posts
0/11 sssssss11

What about their network? Does the industry hire network administrators or desktop support individuals to maintain their networks, servers, and workstations?
Old 08-13-2007, 08:10 AM   #4
adibrown

Activity Longevity
0/20 19/20
Today Posts
0/11 ssssssss3

Hiya

Yes lots of games studios in fact most will have systems administrators and IT Managers looking after the networks and general PC enquiries and help. I suppose you may find more IT technical roles at studios running MMPOG.