Forum Home Register Members List Mark Forums Read

Old 05-20-2008, 10:32 AM   #1
DerekLeBrun

Activity Longevity
0/20 17/20
Today Posts
0/11 ssssssss7
Default Portfolio Advice for 3D Modeler

I've been having trouble landing an interview with my current portfolio. I was wondering how I can improve it. I realize I need some hard surface modeling, which I am currently studying. I try to update it every few months, but I'm considering removing all of the content and replacing it with just 4 or 5 new models.

Any advice?
DerekLeBrun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2008, 11:04 AM   #2
yaustar
Administrator

Activity Longevity
2/20 19/20
Today Posts
1/11 sssss2256

Do you havea 'printed' (Word copy) of your resume and covering letter we could look at? Also, how many companies have you applied to? How many of those have you called back and inquired about your application?
yaustar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2008, 10:25 AM   #3
DerekLeBrun

Activity Longevity
0/20 17/20
Today Posts
0/11 ssssssss7

Every company I've applied for only requested either a portfolio website link, or 3 images of my work, so I have never sent a printed resume. I have used the resume on my website, and my initial email as a cover letter.

What I write depends on the company. I try to mention an ability to produce assets for games they have made in the past, or a project that I know they are currently working on. It's mostly mentioning my abilities, the school I recently graduated from, and thanking them for taking the time to look at my portfolio.

I have applied for 12 companies in my area. One company immediately replied the second I sent my application with an automated email saying they had my portfolio on file, and would contact me if interested. Another company got back to me after a few months with another automated email saying they weren't interested in me at this time. None of the other 10 companies have contacted me.
Old 05-21-2008, 12:30 PM   #4
yaustar
Administrator