Forum Home Register Members List Mark Forums Read

Closed Thread

Old 12-15-2011, 01:43 PM   #1
omniscient

Activity Longevity
0/20 8/20
Today Posts
0/11 ssssssss1
Default What do programmers want/What motivates programmers?

Hello programmers,

I'm a game designer. I am passionate about designing great gameplay, and bringing together art and technology to form my game design into a great experience.
I've learned myself to program, because it empowers me as a designer, and so that I know the problems that programmers face better.
Now I do have a pretty good picture of what kinds of problems programmers face, but I realised that I really don't quite understand something, that might be even more important than what challenges programmers face, namely what it is about programming that gets programmers excited.
So what is it that programmers really want when making a game? What keeps them going, what makes them enthusiastic?
I'm genuinely trying to understand my fellow game developer a bit better.

Thank you.
Old 12-16-2011, 03:34 AM   #2
yaustar
Administrator

Activity Longevity
2/20 19/20
Today Posts
0/11 sssss2270
Default Re: What do programmers want/What motivates programmers?

Ultimately, it comes down to solving 'stuff' with 'stuff' varying pending on the programmer.
Old 12-17-2011, 02:15 PM   #3
LittleWolf

Activity Longevity
0/20 8/20
Today Posts
0/11 ssssssss2

For me there are two parts:

One part is about solving problems. There aren't many things that are as satisfying as finally getting something working you have been working on for hours. I'm still in school, and it happens way to often that when I see something is working I scream a "YES!" out loud and everyone will look at me. (Luckily, they're all programmers, so everyone can relate :P).

The other one is about creating something. First, there was nothing. After I'm done, there is a working computer program. Even better if it's a game . I could never get a job where I'm not creating something.